22 Feb 2021

Update plan assessments quality agreements

In September 2020, the results of the first plan assessment per institution were published on the website of the national government. Initially, 19 universities of applied sciences and 16 universities had received a positive assessment from the minister and thus an allocation of the student loan system from 2022 to 2024.

However, the plans for the quality agreements of 17 higher professional education institutions and 2 universities were initially assessed with a negative decision by the minister. If a plan has been negatively assessed by the minister, the institution has exactly one year to redesign its plans and send them to NVAO. After this year, an NVAO panel will visit the institution again, the panel will give an advice and the minister will take a decision. If the minister's opinion is still "insufficient", the institution will not be paid the student advance funds in the years 2022 to 2024, it is very important for the institutions within higher education that they are allocated the funds.

The reassessments by NVAO and the minister are currently taking place. Of the initially negative assessments, the minister reassessed 7 higher professional education institutions and 1 university as positive and thus allocated the student advance funds.

We are receiving positive feedback from NVAO and the ministry about the institutions that are currently being reassessed, it is expected that each institution will be entitled to the extra quality funds that are spent on the quality agreements as a result of the abolition of the basic grant.

Below is an overview of which institutions have been positively assessed by the minister:

Universities of Applied Sciences:

Codarts Hogeschool voor de Kunsten
Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht
Hogeschool der Kunsten Den Haag
Amsterdamse Hogeschool voor de Kunsten
Design Academy Eindhoven
Hogeschool KPZ
ArtEZ Hogeschool
Marnix Academie
Avans Hogeschool
Hogeschool Inholland
Hogeschool Saxion
Hanzehogeschool Groningen
Hogeschool Leiden
HZ University of Applied Sciences
Zuyd Hogeschool
Thomas More Hogeschool
Christelijke Hogeschool Windesheim
HAS Hogeschool
Driestar Educatief
Hogeschool van Arnhem en Nijmegen (herbeoordeling)
Hogeschool Rotterdam (herbeoordeling)
Hogeschool Utrecht (herbeoordeling)
Hotelschool Den Haag (herbeoordeling)
Aeres Hogeschool (herbeoordeling)
Iselinge Hogeschool (herbeoordeling)
Hogeschool de Kempel (herbeoordeling)


Universiteit van Amsterdam (UvA)
Technische Universiteit Delft
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Universiteit Twente (UT)
Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG)
Open Universiteit
Universiteit Leiden
Maastricht University
Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen (RU)
Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam (EUR)
Universiteit Utrecht
Wageningen University (WUR)
Universiteit voor Humanistiek (aspirant)
Theologische Universiteit Apeldoorn
Theologische Universiteit van de Gereformeerde Kerken
Protestantse Theologische Universiteit
Tilburg University (herbeoordeling)